Skincare Favorites

Hey there! I’m still going through my favorites from last year and the next stop is skincare/self care. This is synonymous for me because I don’t really get much time for myself. I get naptime during the day, and a couple hours during the evening. Sometimes I just go to sleep with whatever moisturizer is close by. But mostly, I’ll take the 5 minutes and add a serum or treatment. I always feel better when I do. I mainly stuck to the Good Molecules and The Ordinary brands for my serums since they are simple and affordable. I also blindly trust Cerave and really enjoyed the new E.L.F. skincare line. I was able to try out a few different sunscreen and moisturizers but I haven’t exactly nailed down a favorite from the ones I tried.

Skincare:

  • Hado Labo Oil Cleanser for removing makeup and sunscreen this is the first step of my 2-step cleansing routine. I always follow with the foaming Cerave cleanser afterwards.
  • Niacinamide Serum from Good Molecules | This serum is easy on the skin and can be used both morning and night. I actually got Kelley using it as well and he really likes it. It is supposed to help with oil regulation and texture.
  • Overnight Exfoliating Serum from Good Molecules | This is probably the most useful thing I found during my skincare renaissance last year. (Also got Kelley using this one too!) This is essentially salycilic acid and can be used as a spot treatment or every other night as an overnight mask. This works so well.
  • E.L.F. Holy Hydration Face Cream | This moisturizer comes in a fragrance free option too, but it’s so hard to find it in stores. This is a medium-weight moisturizer that isn’t specifically stated for night use. But it is great and simple. It does the job and I feel like it keeps the moisture overnight.
  • Acure Radically Rejuvenating Night Cream | This night cream was nice. It was very heavy, had a whipped texture and I felt like it was really really thick. Sometimes that was gross, but mostly it was nice to feel like I was getting a nice slathering of product. Overall, I felt like this did a great job, and I think it actually met its claims.

I also did a number of things that really helped improve my skin texture and complexion. I stopped using any form of makeup wipes (I used the Olay daily facials for years-the dry cloths that you wet to use) and opted to try and use products that produced less waste in general. Luckily I found that using cleansing oil to remove makeup was way easier, and didn’t leave my skin as stripped. I also stopped toners and more specifically stoppeed using witch hazel as toner. I had been using essentially 3 types of cleansing agents and didn’t realize that it was contributing to the redness in my skin. As soon as I stopped using these products and switched to a simpler routine, I saw more consistency in my skin. Obviously this is a personal journey, so take it with a grain of salt!

Thanks for reading and let me know if you have any skincare products that you loved last year (or currently)

-Eva

Published by Domestic Musings

Thoughts and Projects From A Busy Mom

Leave a comment