DIY Christmas Decorations

Two years ago, I was 5 months pregnant with twins. Meaning my body looked and felt full-term but I was only a little over half-way there. I had an inkling that I would likely never have as much time for myself as I did then. With Hubs working full-time on an opposite schedule and frantically searching for THE job that would let me stay at home, I was left to lay and incubate.

I felt like it would be my last Christmas to really establish any sort of regular decorations for awhile, so I searched Pinterest for some DIY options and came up with some inspiration. I went to Dollar General and picked up a slew of cheap decorations and supplies.

2 years later, I’m still adding to my overall collection of decorations, but I’m still very happy with my DIY projects.

I bought a few packs of plastic ornaments in various sizes, bows, and a few different kinds of present-wrapping ribbon. Armed with tacks and Pinterest, I came up with the following:

DIY Christmas Decorations Dollar Store Christmas Decorations
Wrapped Cabinets with bows and ribbon.

I tacked some ribbon around the cabinets and added some bows to the front of these cabinets.

DIY Christmas Decorations Dollar Store Christmas Decorations
Wrapped Cabinets & Hanging Ornatments

I did the same with these smaller cabinets, but added gift bows instead. I then took some of the plastic ornaments and hung them from gold ribbon in the window. (Also, Solar Santa is shaking his jelly in the background.)

DIY Christmas Decorations Dollar Store Christmas Decorations
Hanging Ornaments

I hung more ornaments in one of our bay windows at various lengths. Both the cats and the babies really enjoy this…

DIY Christmas Decorations Dollar Store Christmas Decorations
Christmas Card Holder

At Dollar General I found an adorable card holder. A simple string of twine and Christmas tree clothes-pins. I am a huge fan of receiving holiday cards, and sending them out. I love to collect my favorite ones and re-display them every year as well. I use Walgreens for all of my photo gifts and cards by the way.

DIY Christmas Decorations Dollar Store Christmas Decorations
Ornaments hung on rinky-dink garland.

Last year I hung more ornaments onto this pre-lit misshapen garland. Next year, if the babies will allow it, I will have a bigger fluffier garland! We’re keeping most all of the decorations out of reach this year, including the tree. I’ve opted for a table-top tree that lives safely on the kitchen counter.

I hope that gives you some inspiration as well if you’re looking for simple and budget-friendly decorations for your home. The babies seem to love it and that’s the important part.

Happy decorating!

-Eva

DIY Christmas Decorations Dollar Store Christmas Decorations

Published by Domestic Musings

Thoughts and Projects From A Busy Mom

Leave a comment